Like a lot of cooks out there, I have taken a recipe and made this my own. My husband is one of those who will practically eat anything I put on his plate as long as there are no pickles or green peppers on it. I can always tell when he really likes something I am making. If he doesn’t care for it, he picks at it but still manages to scarf it down. If he really really likes it, he hovers over me in the kitchen and goes back for seconds. You really can’t go wrong with this recipe it is so easy and you can tweak it as you like. One condition though, Shelly and I tried making it with bone-in and realized that was a huge mistake. It takes up too much room and likes to float on top. Still turned out good though. I made it for her bachelorette party and I thought the Paint Your Art Out guys were going to lose it when they saw barbeque was being served. They loved it. 

Single Shot Crock-Pot Pulled Pork

Adapted from original recipe: Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

This is all prepped the night before so it’s easy to just get up, and throw it in the crock-pot.

Pour 1 teaspoon of vegetable oil into the bottom of your crock pot and set aside.
Mix together first in a humongous bowl you can cover and put in the fridge:
1 tablespoon of chili powder
1 tablespoon of garlic powder or crush 2 cloves or both!
1 ½ teaspoons of dried thyme
¼ cup of brown sugar (the hubby always wants me to throw a little more in)
Then stir in:
1 tablespoon of yellow mustard
1 tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce
1 cup of barbeque sauce   Head Country!!!
½ cup of apple cider vinegar
If you want a little heat I like to add a little Frank’s Red Hot sauce. I try it a few times just to make sure the flavor is where I want it.
Then add your 4 pound pork shoulder roast
If it isn’t completely submerged, I like to add a little chicken broth for more flavor.
Cover and stick in the fridge overnight or when you are ready to cook.

Now in the morning before you go to work, dump the pork and all contents into the crock-pot. If you have one that lets you, I usually turn it on high heat 5 hours and then it adjust to low, but if you don’t have it where you can adjust, it cooks just find at low also. Let it cook for 10 hours. Your house will smell wonderful!
Take out the roast and dump most of the juice out. I sometimes leave a little under a cup of juice and stick your pork back in. Get two forks and start pulling apart, shredding it. After you get it all shredded and add your barbeque sauce until its how you like it. If I still have an hour before guest come, I set it to low. Lets the sauce cook into it a little, but you can also serve it right away if needed.

YUUUUMMMYYYY!!!!
YUUUUMMMYYYY!!!!

Then grab some buns and dig in!!!

Come and get it!!!!!!!!!!!

Any good slaw or potato salad recipes to go with it???- Kalamity

