As I like to say, it was “another successful weekend”.  Well rounded. I’m a little scared to look at the account though. This weekend is my husband’s turnaround. Depending on which one it is, he either has to work 7 days in a row, or is off 7 days. This time it was the latter, so we decided to have a little cookout and invite all the family over. Thanks Mama K for the idea. We cooked burgers on the grill since it was good weather, and played charades. My Dad got Alice in Wonderland and it was quite a sight to see him frolic in my living room. Super funny. Most of everyone left around 10 or 11 and we stayed up with my SIL and BIL just talking about all the normal drama you just need to unload about sometimes and the usual theories and concerns. I drank a little bit too much wine, but I did sleep like a baby.

My only regrets on drinking too much wine was the after effects the next day. When you are younger, some have the privilege of not having hangovers. I was one of the fortunate ones but I think that’s because I didn’t (and still don’t) get pissed drunk to where people are having to man handle me. But the older I get, the less my body cares for my consumption of large quantities of alcohol. My head usually has a headache the next morning, but an ibuprofen cures that. This time around, it was a headache preceded by sour stomach. It’s not fun to spend my Sunday picking pecans and usually I wouldn’t mind but after my good-time-Charlie had worn off, I just wanted to be a snuggle-bug on the couch. Like most times, my husband was having none of it. Oh well, we now have 2 big buckets of pecans for him to crack. The hard part is over for me. He will crack them and we will spend time watching TV and picking out the goodie.

I took this one after I had to drag my husband back to the car explaining it's okay that he can't get all those pecans in one day. You would think we were harvesting dollar bills from the ground.
I took this one after I had to drag my husband back to the car explaining it’s okay that he can’t get all those pecans in one day. You would think we were harvesting dollar bills from the ground.

I’m going to miss him being off on Thursday, Friday, and Saturdays…

So this past week, I have had two new wines that are definitely winners in my book and I will be getting again.

Miranda Lambert’s

Crazy Ex- Girlfriend

Sweet White Muscat Cannelli

Crazy Ex Crazy Ex1

Yes, this wine deserves every line. I’m a huge sucker for anything Miranda related, you will soon learn. I have her new boots on my wish list. Just like a crazy ex, you can’t forget this wine once you’ve had it.

Unlike a crazy ex, you will want to drink it again and again. It is a little pricier though but it is totally worth it if you are looking for something a little fancier for your girl’s night besides that $5 bottle. For the best taste, drink it from a champagne flute. If your store doesn’t carry it, be sure and ask if they can order it. Most places will order it for you and can have it in by a couple of days.

Stone Hill Winery

Concord

Stone Hill
Concord is a sweet red wine. Serve chilled and oh my, my, MY!!!! This stuff was a little too good to drink and only $8.99. My dad suggested adding a little sprite to it, but I didn’t try it that way. I bet it would be good though. A must try if you like sweet wines. That makes two Stone Hill’s I have tried and so far I like this one best.

This weekend’s movie was The Spectacular Now. I had high hopes for this one. It was good until the end. It leaves you hanging for you to read between the lines. Kind of scary to think there are kids who grow up the way he does. Miles Teller reminds me of a young John Cusack. Everything was kind of vague throughout and I just wished to know more. If it’s the only thing on TV, I will prob flip it over, but not one I care to watch again.

How was your weekend?

I’ll pass on the refill for now…

Kalamity

