Banana Rum Cake

Hey Mama.

You might want to go outside while I eat this.

Makes you want to hit your Daddy with a baseball bat. :)
Makes you want to hit your Daddy with a baseball bat. 🙂

Ingredients for the Cake:

1 cup chopped pecans

1 package of yellow cake mix

1 (3.4 ounce) package instant banana cream pudding mix

4 eggs

½ cup water

½ cup vegetable oil

½ cup of banana flavored rum (I use Bacardi.)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C). Grease and flour a 10 inch Bundt pan. Sprinkle chopped nuts evenly over the bottom of the pan.

In a large bowl, combine cake mix and pudding mix. Mix in the eggs, 1/2 cup water, oil and 1/2 cup rum. Blend well. Pour batter over chopped nuts in the pan.

Bake in the oven for 60 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the cake comes out clean. Let sit for 10 minutes in the pan, then turn out onto serving plate.

Now for the glaze.

I actually cheated on this one the first time I made it. Mom had store bought icing and I just mixed a ¼ cup of rum with it.  I made it this way for a baby shower and colored the icing blue. It was pretty cute. This last time I used the recipe it called for. To be honest, I think it would be fine without it, especially if you don’t want it to be too sweet.

Ingredients for the glaze:

½ cup of butter

¼ cup of water

1 cup of sugar

½ cup of banana rum

Directions for making the glaze:

In a saucepan, combine butter, 1/4 cup water and 1 cup sugar. Bring to a boil over medium heat and continue to boil for 5 minutes, stir constantly. Remove from heat and stir in 1/2 cup rum.

I like to take a tooth pick and poke a few more holes in mine. Brush glaze over top and sides. Allow cake to absorb glaze and repeat until all glaze is used.

Enjoy! – Kalamity

