Recently while traveling to a wedding in southern Oklahoma, I saw a sign that caused my Wild Heart to skip a few beats. What did it say, simply, Tishomingo 31 miles. I squealed out loud, much to Daddy R’s surprise. After a few bats of my eyes, then five little words, Miranda Lambert’s Pink Pistol Store, I had the golden ticket to take a much deserved little detour. See Daddy R’s got a thing for that Pretty Feisty Blonde, add in that voice, well, he’s all in. I was so excited, I did make one slight error on my path. I called that ungrateful daughter (she knows the story) of mine, Katy, the Little Heifer. I thought I would share with her my excitement. To my dismay, I was called several unpleasant names, one started with a B, followed by threats to my wellbeing. She “niced” right up after I promised a T-shirt at the very least. I was secretly snickering. I knew it would rile her up. Back to my adventure. **
My My My!!!
My My My!!!

 Next thing I knew, we were at the crossroad of main street Tishomingo and US Highway 377. I looked off to the left and there were the pink and white awnings of The Pink Pistol. Woo Hoo!! It was a site to behold as we pulled up in front of the store and out walks six burly brawny black-clad gents all sportin’ black cups with pink straws in one hand and pink shoppin bags in the other. Sign me up.

Now walkin’ into the store was like a trip back in time, an amazin’ mixture of Candy Store, Soda Fountain and Mercantile. There was every kind of old time candy that my childhood was filled with, some were even before my time. Next my eyes lit on the soda fountain that offered a true walk down memory lane. While I took off to look at all of the goodies that the store offered, Daddy R ordered us up a Hot fudge Sundae and a Dr. Pepper. Heaven. Took me back to the old drug store in Downtown Bixby, Oklahoma, except pumped up with some killer tunes.

As Daddy R sat at the counter enjoyin’ his sundae along with the pretty Brunette behind it, I searched the aisle for the perfect gifts for, “the Little Heifer”, her sister Red, another Shotgun Girl and a couple of ornery Sons-in-Laws. To my delight, I found in the middle of the clothing section, a wonderful lil’ Gazebo decked out with a chair fit for a Queen. The perfect spot for a special photo op to commemorate a shoppers visit. Mamma not being of the photogenic type had a quick sit, but ducked out before Daddy R got the camera ready. Who says Mama can’t get her fast on? Back to shopping… After a cornucopia of t-shirt and hoodie styles and designs, I found the perfect purchases for my crew. If Daddy R hadn’t been taggin’ along, Mama would have gone out sportin’ some new boots.

Proof!!!
Proof!!!

 The Pink Pistol offers some blingin’ unique styles that you can’t just find anywhere. Mama loves some bling. I sauntered around the store into the back corner where I hit the Son-in-Law load in Blake’s corner. I found some Special Shit. No, really. That’s what it is called, special seasoning made for your meat or whatever. Mama ain’t just talkin’ naughty. There was a whole lot of different Shit to choose from hot sauces, dip mixes, bar-b-que sauces and more. Perfect for the Sons-in-laws in my life. Blake’s corner actually offered just about anything that would make your man smile. Daddy R even got caught shoppin’ the corner himself. Shockin’ but true, despite the jealousy in his heart toward Blake over his woman, just sayin. Love ya, Daddy.

After Blake’s corner, I found myself searchin’ through the coffee and giftware section that had nostalgia everywhere. Many of the gifts offered where versions of all the classic items that take you back to Grandma’s table, well my Grandma’s table, after all I was born in the 60’s. (Special Note: The 60’s lasted 10 years, I ain’t sayin’ early, mid or late. I’m younger at heart than the date suggests.) There were Recipe Books, Kitchen Wares, Coffee’s, and Mugs, everything for gifting with that special touch. They also had a section of toys from my youth, the ones we all should have never lived through because they weren’t covered with warning and such. I could have stayed for hours, but at last Daddy R was startin’ to grumble so, I headed to the front, but not before Mama picked up a Pink Pistol key chain and sticker for her truck.

Mama K's New Tote and her blingy purse.
Mama K’s New Tote and her blingy purse.

 After chattin’ with the Counter Girls tellin’ them about my Shotgun Girls, I was tickled pink that I was walkin’ out with my very own eco-friendly Pink Pistol shoppin’ bag, (Free with my purchase over $50.) in one hand, a Pink Pistol cup with a black straw in the other hand and a wild crazy kinda smile on my face. Over all, I would give the Pink Pistol, a 5 Shotgun Shell rating. The girls behind the counter were pleasant, helpful and friendly. The store was filled with a little something for everyone young and old. The energy of Miranda and Blake was evident everywhere you looked. Miranda’s store is definitely worth getting off the beaten path. Take a couple of hours and detour off the four lane. You won’t be disappointed. It’s not the detour that will take you so long, most of your time will be spent reflectin’ on days gone by, laughin’ out loud, dancin’ in the aisles and just plain not wantin’ to leave.. .

 Mama thinks that since “the Little Heifer” took me to the Pistol Annie’s concert in Durant for my Birthday in 2012, that the Shotgun Girls should plan a fall trip around the end of September and help me celebrate another spoke in my wheel. Who knows maybe Miranda could even stop by?

 **Extra Special Note: No Ungrateful daughters were harmed in this piece. “The Little Heifer” and her sister, Red are the only ones allowed to bring out the B’ word, to Mama, but only in just. If they were serious they might not have lived, we have a special unique laughing loving relationship. As for how they became ungrateful daughters, I might be persuaded to tell, depends on how many ask. Love all my Shotgun Girls, Mama

