Daily Prompt: SOS

You’re at the beach, lounging on your towel, when a glistening object at the water’s edge catches your eye. It’s a bottle — and yes, it contains a message. What does it say?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us WATER.

After finally lodging the old cork loose, I pulled out a brown piece of paper with a ring around it which read as follows:

To the person who finds this:

This is but the last piece of paper that I have left. My name is James Reed Wolfe the 3rd. I fear my family may worry about me, so I am hoping you can deliver this to them whoever you may be. I have been stranded on this island now for many days. I gave up counting after day 100 believing that if not rescued by now, I will never be rescued. I want my family to know that I am okay. My research on the species of flowers has come to an end. I have adapted to this environment and enjoy the peace of the rain forest here and the old ruins are now my home on this island. There is a waterfall near that is so breathtaking. Diane loved it so. She now rests near it. I miss her terribly. I have no idea where I am, but it doesn’t matter anymore. Since this is now my love’s permanent home, it shall be mine also. My family shan’t have to worry about me anymore. Tell them I love them and that if I don’t see them again in this life, I shall see them again in the next. Please give them this ring as proof it was me.

Their dearest,

James

