I feel like I have had a falling out with a best friend. I hate it, hate it, hate it!!!

I NEED YOU NOW!!!
I NEED YOU NOW!!!

I am a 27 year old who likes to read all sorts of books. I have read about dragons, vampires, werewolves, pirates, aliens, and then come Young Adult novels, the Christian novels and the Christian Grey novels (GASP!)…sigh…. I’ve read some books more than once. I love to read because I can disappear from where I am and end up in a different city watching Cat and Bones take on some bad vampire or be down in Texas watching Lady Sydney fool Big Tim. My job has some downtime and unfortunately that has me stuck at a desk. I usually end up looking like a fool with a big-dummy-grin on my face like I’m watching You’ve Got Mail or some other romance (Did I mention my desk has a big bay window everyone has to pass by?) but instead I’m all caught up in the latest cheap book I have found on Barnes and Nobles. I just love to read.

But alas, I have a problem. If anyone knows if there is a word for this feeling, let me know. I have developed this condition and I know it will go away in due time, but for now, I just feel lost. Frankly, it pisses me off.

In December, I started reading the Lux series by Jennifer Armentrout. (I know I’m holding this feeling in when I can spell the author’s name.) Like so many books these days, it’s a series and what do I do? I fall in love with it. I spend all my free time reading it and oh-so-hoping for the two characters to realize how made for one another they are. Like most great authors do, Jennifer (I’m on a first name basis with her in my head.) has me, hook, line, and sinker. I bought all 4 of them. I couldn’t bring myself to buy the novella. I already know what will happen to those characters… After I finished reading each one, I just had to go buy the next and start reading it even if I could only read part of a chapter since there was something to get ready for, Christmas and all. It was like my favorite brand of chocolate.

I finished the fourth one after New Years. I’m not a fast reader, diving right into all the details and all. I finished it and again went in search for the fifth. THERE IS A FIFTH!!!, but after doing a little digging, I found out that it isn’t set to be published in August!!! AUGUST??? Just thinking about it has me feeling like a spring wound too tight about to explode. I have been left in Oregon watching my friends (okay the characters) get ripped apart and I am supposed to wait to find out what happens next? I feel like I’m sitting at the ER waiting to be seen… THE DOCTOR IS TAKING FOREVER!!!

I have this envy of the author. I know she knows what’s going to happen. I have this lonesome feeling. I can’t just start reading another book without thinking about that one… I’m trying to read Bitten and I’m stuck in the Lux Series World. I feel like need that knife from The Subtle Knife to cut myself away from it, but deep down I don’t want to. I just want to finish it.… I want to finish and I can’t.

I have already had this problem occur with The Iron Butterfly Series too. I’m stuck waiting for Chanda Hahn to publish The Silver Siren. I stalk her blog monthly for an update that is never there. I’m a fool for books. This happens to me all the time. I feel like I have to recuperate from them. I guess this is probably how a Harry Potter fan feels. Lost. What to read next? I know this feeling will pass. Maybe a few more chapters into Bitten this will fade, but I know it won’t totally go away. Not until I finish the Lux Series, AND The Iron Butterfly series. I’ve dealt with it with Charlaine Harris and Stephanie Meyer who I suspect never will publish another novel again. The Host was really better than the Twilight books, in my opinion. Off track…

Just a few of the books I've read lately. I also recomment them all!!!
Just a few of the books I’ve read lately. I also recommend them all!!!

Waiting… Waiting… Waiting… Waiting for closure…

Do you ever get this feeling?

Any idea if there is a name for it?

~Kalamity

I guess this explains it.
I guess this explains it.
