Daily Prompt: West End Girls

Every city and town contains people of different classes: rich, poor, and somewhere in between. What’s it like where you live? If it’s difficult for you to discern and describe the different types of classes in your locale, describe what it was like where you grew up — was it swimming pools and movie stars, industrial and working class, somewhere in between or something completely different?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us SOCIETY.

I live in town now, but I still think of myself as new. I haven’t been around that long so I’m still learning. I have a good idea that people probably aren’t much different than what I grew up around minus the meth heads. I grew up in the country. It was a good 20 minute drive to town and as soon as you crossed over the county line to my neck of the woods, you were straddling and dodging all the craters in the road. One school, 2 small gas stations where you can sometimes get a good burger and cross your fingers if you get the pizza, about a handful of churches with varying degrees of Baptist influence and you have my “neighborhood”. I lived in a rural area that had one name, a school with another and a “neighborhood” that had another. You got your phone from one town, your electric from another, and your water was rural. The only time the sheriff would show up would be to do a roadblock looking for someone or to catch a drug dealer. We didn’t really have a creek or a road separating one class or the other. We all lived amongst one another with one so called “class”, “tax bracket”, “family of one political party or the other”. We were all just one big happy community with a bunch of crazies.

Other Daily Prompts:

~Kalamity