Daily Prompt: Never Gonna Give You Up

You. We know *you* are vice-free, dear Daily Post reader. But, or perhaps we should say, “butt,” others around you and in your life are riddled with vices: they smoke; they eat too much celery; they hog the covers; they can’t keep their hands out of the office candy bowl. Which vice or bad habit can you simply not abide in others?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us VICE.
 
I guess my biggest pet peeve is inconsideration. I can handle a bunch of things but inconsideration for others is not one of them. It drives me crazy. That being said, I know this covers such a wide area. Here are a few that just really get to me:

When you are watching your favorite show or movie and someone sits down and wants to talk to you during the whole thing. By all means sit down and stay a while but shut up. I need to see what happens with Cat and Vince!!! (Beauty and the Beast on the CW) If I have to pause or rewind this one more time…

People who run errands in town and do not follow a desirable path… In the diagram below, you have the numbered stores that you need to go to. The best thing to do is to go with the flow. On the right is the correct way to run errands. You don’t have to cross traffic. You don’t have to cuss because some idiot was driving too slow so that’s why you couldn’t get across and so on. The only time you should have to deviate from your route is if you absolutely have to go somewhere like the bank first. DRIVES ME CRAZY!!!

right way

When your friends and family are working on a project that you have knowledge of but they don’t ask for your help. I went to college for Horticulture and have worked in a greenhouse and a couple of nurseries. I’m not saying I know everything, but I know more than most. Just last year I had to help my Sister-in-law take some plants back to the store and show her what would be best for her front bed that was completely barren. She went and found some pretty lilies and when I told her they were done blooming for the year she couldn’t believe it. I helped her find some nice hydrangeas for the bed. By the end of summer, she had a beautiful front bed. This happens every year though. Someone goes and buys something and doesn’t understand why it’s not blooming, why it’s dying, or something else that could have been prevented.

When others are planning events and either don’t allow ample time for all guests to arrive or make it extremely inconvenient for them to get to. Maybe this doesn’t apply to third cousins and acquaintances, but if I’m your best friend or close relative that you really want to be there don’t get ticked off when I show up late or not at all when you plan something that is either too far away or not at a reasonable time. You know where I live and what time I get off. So irritating.

Bad or no tipping your waiter… I want to crawl under the table. My husband and I always tip. He worked for a restaurant for a while and I had friends who were waitresses so we know the struggles waiting on people can cause. I think I can count on one hand when I have had an awful experience that caused me to leave a low tip. No tip is the worst though. If I am with you and you don’t tip, I will make it a point to not show my face in that restaurant for a few months. If I were the waitress I would never forget the face of the non-tippers. So embarrassing.

Smoking is probably one of the most inconsiderate for many reasons. You’re killing yourself! You are harming yourself and your family by shortening your life. Not to mention second hand smoking, this causes health problems of your loved ones. It’s like a big finger is pointing your way when one of your relatives cough because they lived around you and your bad habit and now have their own health problems. Not to mention your influence on younger generations.

The list goes on and on… Inconsideration is like a disease. It just seems to spread everywhere. In this day in age, people have this attitude of it’s all about me. ME, ME, Me. Our inconsideration hurts others physically and mentally. This is not to be confused with offending someone. They are in the same family and you will probably end up always offending someone but consider others when you do something. The Golden Rule seems to have been forgotten. That waitress may have been having a bad day at home and it carried over to work. Don’t tell me that hasn’t ever happened to you. By asking me my advice, you are considering me and that makes me feel good and you end up profiting from it with a nice yard. As for smoking, you really should take consideration of yourself.

Bring back some consideration.

On a side note: I will be thinking about the coworker who didn’t ask me if I wanted anything from the store this morning. I could have really used the caffeine buddy.

~Kalamity

