I like all of God’s creatures; I just like some of them better stuffed. – Ramona Calvert, Hope Floats

I totally agree with you, Ramona. Snakes are definitely one of those creatures that are better stuffed or made into a pair boots. I know they have their place, but cottonmouths or water moccasins are just bad news. They are too curious and they stink to high heaven.

About a month ago, my husband and I went fishing at one of his many spots. I hadn’t had the pleasure of fishing at this one before and I didn’t have that pleasure this time either. For him, being a fisherman is kind of like being a golfer except instead of fishing in any kind of weather, it’s adapting to your surroundings whether it be fishing a pond, bluff, side of a cliff with rope tied around your waste… okay so maybe I exaggerate a little.

This particular time we were fishing by a small bridge on a very steep grade of loose gravel. The gravel was so loose that when he

View from the other side of the bridge
View from the other side of the bridge

told me to come down a little further by the water, my rear end met the gravel in an unfriendly way and I’m sure blooper-ish also. I decided that since I fell in this blessed spot, I would plant it there for the remaining of our stay.

While I got comfy cozy with a good size piece of gravel leaving an imprint in my backside, I, like many a patient fisher-person does, watched my cork for any signs of a big crappie. My husband was catching quite a few under the bridge and had caught another to add to the basket so I turned watching him take it off and he threw his limp lifeless minnow across me into the water to replace it with his next victim.

Bill Swindaman Photography: Carolina Low Country -Recent Travels &emdash; Cottonmouth (Water Moccasin) Swimming at Beidler Forest

Apparently, I wasn’t the only one watching him throw it. There was a 6 foot… alright, it was only 3 foot cottonmouth swimming towards the side of the bank to where he threw the minnow. Needless to say, I managed to find my grip and hauled myself up scaring him from getting the minnow. Luckily, he didn’t come back for it, but for the remainder of our stay, I kept my eyes peeled and kept imagining him laying not far just watching us… and waiting…

He would have made a lovely purse!

 

Thank you for reading,

Kalamity

Picture of the handsome man fishing and the lake provided by me.

via,

 

